“Daughter of the Stars”
- Shenandoah VA Attractions
- Shenandoah VA Lodging
- Shenandoah VA Festivals
- Shenandoah VA Outdoor
- Shenandoah VA Restaurants
- Shenandoah VA Real Estate
- Shenandoah VA Shopping
- Shenandoah VA Weddings
Town of Shenandoah VA
The small rural town of Shenandoah is located in Page county in the Shenandoah Valley and the Virginia Blue Ridge Mountains. The town is nestled between Massanutten Ridge and the banks of the Shenandoah River.
Shenandoah is a great place to stay and explore the surrounding attractions and things to do. There are hotels, bed and breakfasts, campgrounds and cabin rentals to choose from. Venture out from the town of Shenandoah to Luray Caverns 30 minutes away, or Massanutten Resort, Shenandoah National Park and the Skyline Drive, and New Market Battlefield.
In addition there are many things to do in and around the town of Shenandoah Virginia such as grab a bite to eat at many local restaurants, visit the many wineries, kayak, canoe or tube the Shenandoah River, go fishing, horseback riding, hiking, national and state parks. Page county arts, golf, and country store shopping.
History of Shenandoah VA
The town of Shenandoah was founded by two brothers, Daniel and Henry Ferrer in 1837. The abundance of natural resources such as ion ore, wood, limestone and the water power of the Shenandoah River allowed the brothers to transport iron ore to larger markets. In 1838 the first post office was found under the name Shenandoah Iron Works. The town began to flourish with new homes and businesses.
The town of Shenandoah Virginia played a large role in the Civil War. Three ion ore furnaces in Shenandoah smelted raw iron ore into pig iron and shipped to Gordonsville and Richmond. Cannonballs, gun powder were manufactured and shipped out from the local furnaces at Shenandoah used by the Confederacy.
After the Civil War, William Milnes JR and Thomas Johns came to Shenandoah in 1866 and purchased 32,000 acres including the Iron Works. The tow men continued the Iron Works and upgrade production.
After the 1870 flood William Milnes, started the Shenandoah Valley Railroad which started in Roanoke passed through the Shenandoah Valley and end in Hagerstown Maryland. Shenandoah became the midpoint between Roanoke, VA and Harrisburg, PA and enabled good to be sold. In 1884 the town name became Milnes. In 1890 the town was changed from Milnes to Shenandoah.