Select Page

Great Smoky Mountains in NC & TN

The Great Smoky Mountains National Park sometimes referred to as the Great Smokies or Great Smoky Mountains are part of the Appalachian system, on the North Carolina – Tennessee border; highest range East of the Mississippi and one of the oldest uplands on earth. The mountains are named for the smoke like haze that envelops them. More than 25 peaks rise over 6,000 ft. The Great Smokies are noted for their many species of trees and a great variety of flowering plants. Nearly 40% of the forest is virgin growth. Black bears are among the most well-known of the many animals and birds in the Great Smokies.

Great Smoky Mountains

Great Smoky Mountains National Park Information

Great Smoky Mountains Points of Interest

  • The Appalachian Trail
  • Clingmans Dome
  • Cades Cove
  • Roaring Fork Motor Nature Trail
  • Great Smoky Mountains Railroad
  • Chimney Tops Trail
  • Cataloochee Valley
  • Laurel Falls
  • Mountain Farm Museum
  • Newfound Gap Road
  • Mount LeConte
  • Alum Cave Trail
  • Grotto Falls Trail
  • Rainbow Falls Trail
  • Abrams Falls Trail
  • Ramsey Cascades
  • Spruce Flats Falls
  • Cataract Falls
  • Baskins Creek Falls
  • Meigs Falls